SELF LOVE ✔️

img_0826“And if I asked you to name all the things you loved.. How long would it take for you to name yourself?”

Like a lot of quotes, I love this one.

Self love is so important.

I feel like a lot of people are searching for something or someone to heal themselves or fill a hole in their lives…But if you tried to give that love to yourself and stop searching for someone to give you that love, good things will happen. You’ll be free.

Maybe life isn’t about having fancy shit and or looking the greatest all the time.. Maybe it’s about feeling that warmth from just purely loving yourself. Simply being able to look in the mirror everyday and just being able to say “ahhhhh… I am ME. I am happy with what I see, how I look & feel. Nothing can stop me because I know my worth and I know what I deserve”

I feel like everyone can become so obsessed with looking like they have all their ducks are in a row – but looking like all your shits together and actually having it together are two completely different things. And who wants to have all their shit sorted anyways? That’s boring. Leave some things unplanned, keep your life exciting.. Be alive & live in the moment.

I’m not a master at self love. Like most, I struggle daily with how i feel & not liking what I see…but as soon as you truly and whole heartedly love yourself – it’ll make a world of difference. Taking small steps in the right direction will eventually get you there.

I love me. I have a healthy, functioning body. My legs work and carry the rest of my body around for me on the daily. My mind is able to think & remember. I love that I’m not allegoric to anything. I love how much my mind and body love the gym. I love how much I love vegetables and fruit. I can read and write. I can drive. I love being able to take care of myself. I love how even though I lost my mum so young & have minimal contact with my dad – I’m still me. I still find joy in life and I still want to be alive. I love how caring and loving I am. I love that I am happy. And I love that I am able to love me.

A few years ago (even at the beginning of this year) I wouldn’t have really been able to name a single thing I loved about myself. I hated my handwriting. I hated my foot size. I hated what I saw when I looked in the mirror. I felt worthless. When I was 16 I felt so overweight & miserable. I wasn’t taking care of myself. But I began going for little walks around my neighbourhood, which turned into a few jogs… then I started to run. Take that as you will, but I feel like thats how we can start to change – slow but constant. I’m in a better shape now than I was when I was playing sport in high school and that is a huge factor in how I feel mentally and physically. Take care of yourself out there – after all, you’re the only one who has to live with yourself for the rest of your life.

We all have shit days, I know.

But not everyday has to be shit. 

In the end, I guess it’s all about your attitude & how you approach your issues.

Love fixes love in my eyes, so give yourself enough love so you can feel that love in return.

Wear something you feel good in, eat whatever makes you feel happy and smile so often you forget what frowning is.

“Mirrors are just glass and you are more than that.”

Britney rose x

Leave a Reply

